Basil-Parsley Pesto Pasta with Cherry Tomatoes and Olives

I started a balcony herb garden a few months ago, and an overabundance of basil and flat-leaf parsley led to one of my favorite summertime recipes: pesto! So I gathered my ingredients to make this delicious sauce: basil, parsley, walnuts, garlic cloves, Parmesan cheese, salt, and olive oil.


Basil-Parsley Pesto Pasta Recipe Card

I combined all ingredients, except the olive oil, in the food processor.

pesto ingredients, before

Ingredients for pesto, except olive oil

Then I processed it until a thick paste formed. I absolutely love the vibrant green color in this photo.

pesto, without olive oil

Pesto ingredients, processed

I slowly drizzled the olive oil in as I processed some more. Pesto, simple as that!

pesto!

Voilà! So green and vibrant.

The thick, chunky pesto worked really well with radiatore pasta, mixing perfectly with the small, ridged shape of the noodles. (Apparently, an industrial designer came up with radiatore, based on on the look of a radiator. Who knew?)

radiatore   pesto pasta, mixed

Cherry tomatoes and black olives completed this summery pasta dish.

pesto pasta, plated

Dinner for two, all in less than 30 minutes!

So simple, fresh, and delicious! What recipes do you use to make pesto?

 

Leave a Reply

